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Dear Dental Licensure by Examination Applicant: 
 
Thank you for your interest in dental licensure in Arizona.  This letter outlines the requirements 
for licensure by examination. 
 
The Arizona State Board of Dental Examiners accepts the successful results of the Western 
Regional Examining Board (WREB) dental examination completed within five years preceding 
the filing of your application with this office.   
 
The requirements for licensure include a jurisprudence examination on the Arizona Revised 
Statutes (Laws) and Arizona Administrative Code (Rules) governing dentists, dental hygienists, 
dental assistants and denturists.  The Laws and Rules are available on our web site at 
https://dentalboard.az.gov/publications. 
 
The jurisprudence examination is given at the Board’s office once a month.  The list of 
examination dates and times is on our website at https://dentalboard.az.gov/applications-forms.  
Please call to add your name to the examination participant list.   
 
You have the option of taking the jurisprudence examination online at 
http://www.azdentaljuris.com.  The fee to take the examination online is $35.00 which is paid 
online by credit card.  This fee is in addition to the Board’s jurisprudence examination fee. 
 
Please be advised, new law enacted July 3, 2015 requires applicants for licensure to obtain a 
valid Arizona Fingerprint Clearance Card. 
 
Upon receipt, your application for licensure will be reviewed.  If all requirements for licensure are 
met, a letter of licensure will be forwarded to you.  If all the requirements are not met, you will 
receive notification of what is needed to complete your application.  You have 60 days to submit 
missing documentation.  If you do not submit missing documentation within 60 days, you must 
start the licensure process over. 
 
If you have any questions or require additional information, contact Nancy Elia, Licensing 
Administrator at 602.542.4437. 
 

https://dentalboard.az.gov/publications
https://dentalboard.az.gov/applications-forms
http://www.azdentaljuris.com/
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LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 
WESTERN REGIONAL EXAMINING BOARD 

INFORMATION 
 
 
For licensure by examination, Arizona only accepts WREB which has been successfully 
completed within five years prior to submission of application for licensure. 
 
To apply for the examination contact WREB: 
 
 Western Regional Examining Board 
 23460 N. 19th Ave., Suite 225 
 Phoenix, AZ 85027 
 
 Phone – 602.944.3315 
 
 Internet – www.wreb.org 
 
The successful completion of the examination does NOT automatically license dentists in any of 
the member states.  Each state has different requirements for licensure.   
 
Arizona does not have specialty boards or specialty licensing. 
 
There are no temporary licensure provisions allowed by Arizona law. 
 



Revised 9.2016 

DENTAL LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS 
 
Applicants must submit the following documentation when applying for licensure: 
 
1. Application Form 

a. Provide an answer to all of the questions.   
b. Sign your application in the presence of a Notary Public. 
c. Attach a photograph that is not more than 6 months old.  A passport size photograph is 

satisfactory. 
d. Include the Malpractice Addendum if you answered yes to question 15. 

 
2. Western Regional Examining Board Examination 

a. Submit a photocopy of your scorecard PDF sent to you by WREB. 
b. Dates of examination must be within five years immediately preceding the date the 

application was filed with the Board. 
c. If you need to order your scorecard from WREB, order a Duplicate Success Card. 

 
3. National Board Scorecard 

a. Must be sent directly to the Board office from National Board. 
b. If you need to order your National Board results, you must order them online. Each 

result report is $34.00. Go to http://www.ada.org/en/jcnde/examinations/leaving-jcnde-
site-request-nbde-results.  When you reach the page, it will inform you that you are 
leaving the JCNDE website to log in.  Click the "click here."  When asked what state to 
send the results to, click on the box for Arizona. The JCNDE has the Arizona Dental 
Board's address saved and will send it to the correct address.  Continue to the next 
page to select the number of copies you would like to order in the dropdown box to the 
right of your address.  After selecting where the results will be mailed, complete the 
disclaimer and payment information pages and submit your request.  All requests are 
mailed via USPS First Class mail (no tracking).  Expedited service is not available. 

 
4. Dental School Transcript 

a. Must be sent directly to the Board office from your dental school. 
b. Must be an official transcript 
c. Dental degree must be posted 

 
5. Jurisprudence Examination 

a. Examination over the Arizona Revised Statutes and Arizona Administrative Code 
governing dentists, dental hygienists, dental assistants and denturists.  Download and 
study the PDF files entitled Board Laws and Board Rules from the Publications tab on 
our website https://dentalboard.az.gov/publications. 

b. The Jurisprudence Examination fee is $300.00 payable in certified funds (cashier’s 
check or money order) to the Arizona State Board of Dental Examiners.  The fee must 
be submitted at the time you submit your application. (ARS § 32-1232(B)) 

c. The examination is given monthly at the Board office, please call 602.242.1492 to 
reserve your seat. 
OR 
You may take the examination online at http://www.azdentaljuris.com.  The fee to take 
the examination online is $35.00.  This is a separate, additional fee payable by credit 
card online.  Please use your legal name when registering. 

d. If you complete the examination online, submit a copy of your completion certificate. 
 
 

http://www.ada.org/en/jcnde/examinations/leaving-jcnde-site-request-nbde-results
http://www.ada.org/en/jcnde/examinations/leaving-jcnde-site-request-nbde-results
https://dentalboard.az.gov/publications
http://www.azdentaljuris.com/
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6. Arizona Fingerprint Clearance Card 
 

a. If you have a valid Arizona Fingerprint Clearance Card, submit a photocopy. 
b. To obtain an Arizona Fingerprint Clearance Card, you may apply online at 

http://fieldprintarizona.com if you are in state. OR 
c. If you are out of state or do not have access to an internet connected device  contact 

the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS) for a Fingerprint Clearance Card 
application packet.  You may contact them by either calling 602.223.2279 or faxing 
your request to 602.223.2947. DPS office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 am 
to 5:00 pm. 

d. On either Fingerprint Clearance Card application select Paid Employee and the 
appropriate statutory authority.  ARS § 32-1232 for Dentists, ARS § 32-1284 for Dental 
Hygienists or ARS § 32-1297.01 for Denturists. 

e. For more information, please review DPS Fingerprint Clearance Card Frequently 
Asked Questions at http://www.azdps.gov/services/fingerprint/ 

 
7. Arizona Statement of Citizenship or Alien Status for Public Benefits Form 

a. Complete the Arizona Statement of Citizenship or Alien Status for State Public 
Benefits form. 

b. Submit copy of one or more document(s) from the "Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. 
National Status, or Alien Status" lists. 

c. If the document you submit does not contain a photograph, you must also provide a 
government issued document that contains your photograph. 

d. Submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your 
evidence is not the same as your current legal name. 

 
8. CPR Certification 

a. Submit a photocopy of your current Healthcare Provider CPR certification indicating 
expiration or renewal date. 

 
9. National Practitioner Data Bank 

a. If you are or have ever been licensed in another state, you must submit a self-query 
from the National Practitioner Data Bank that is no more than 30 days old. 

i. On the internet, go to:  http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov  
ii. Click on Self-Query Basics, then Start a Self-Query for an Individual 
iii. When you receive the self-query from NPDB be sure to open it to verify it is the 

self-query, make a copy for yourself and send the original to this office. 
 
10. Letter of Endorsement 

a. If you are in the military or employed by the United States government, submit a letter 
of endorsement from your commanding officer or superior. 

 
11. Letter of Endorsement 

a. If you are licensed or have ever been licensed in any other jurisdiction, a letter of 
endorsement must be sent from that jurisdiction directly to the Arizona State Board of 
Dental Examiners. 

 
12. Name Change Documentation 

a. If any of your documents are submitted under a name other than your legal name 
(question 2 on the Application for Licensure), please provide a copy of the document 
legally changing your name (i.e. marriage certificate, divorce decree, court papers). 

 
 

http://www.azdps.gov/services/fingerprint/
http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/
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13. Prorate License Fee 
a. The prorate license fee, is the fee for your license from the date your license is issued 

to the next June 30. 
b. The prorate license fee is $110.00.  (ARS § 32-1236(C)) 
c. This fee may be paid by personal check.   

 
 
 
 
 

IMPORTANT DATES 
 
If your application requires Board review, the following are cutoff dates for 
COMPLETE APPLICATIONS to be placed on the Board meeting agenda.  A 
COMPLETE APPLICATION includes all required documents, fees and 
successful completion of the jurisprudence exam. 
 

Cutoff date Board Meeting Date 
Friday, September 16, 2016 October 7, 2016 

Thursday, November 10, 2016 December 2, 2016 
Friday, January 13, 2017 February 3, 2017 
Friday, March 10, 2017 March 31, 2017 
Friday, May 12, 2017 June 2, 2017 
Friday, July 14, 2017 August 4, 2017 

Friday, September 15, 2017 October 6, 2017 
Friday, November 10, 2017 December 1, 2017 

 


