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 (License N
um

ber) hereby affirm
 that the C

ontinuing 
Education R

ecord below
 is true and correct and that all requirem

ents of continuing education as stated in Arizona A
dm

inistrative C
ode (A

AC
) Title 

4, C
hapter 11, Article 12 have been m

et. I fully understand that any false statem
ent in this Affidavit shall be grounds for suspension, revocation, 

refusal to renew
 license or certificate or any other disciplinary action authorized by Arizona R

evised Statutes § 32-1263. 
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R

4-11-1203(1) 
D

ental and m
edical health, preventive services, dental diagnosis and treatm

ent planning, dental 
recordkeeping, dental clinical procedures, m

anaging m
edical em

ergencies, pain m
anagem

ent, dental 
public health, and courses in corrective and restorative oral health and basic dental sciences, w

hich m
ay 

include current research, new
 concepts in dentistry, and behavioral and biological sciences that are 

oriented to dentistry.  A
 licensee w

ho holds a perm
it to adm

inister general anesthesia, deep sedation, 
parenteral sedation or oral sedation w

ho is required to obtain continuing education pursuant to A
rticle 13 

m
ay apply those credit hours to the requirem

ents of this S
ection. 

42 credit hours 
m

inim
um

 

 

R
4-11-1203(2) 

D
ental practice organization and m
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ent, patient m
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ent skills, and m

ethods of health care 
delivery 
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Infectious diseases and infectious disease control 
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E
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rizona dental jurisprudence 
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ber of H
ours 

O
f the hours listed above, state the num

ber of hours com
pleted by "self-study" activities as defined in A

A
C

 R
4-11-

1209(A
)(4). A

 D
entist or D

ental C
onsultant is lim

ited to no m
ore than 24 hours com

pleted by "self-study" activities. Turn 
page over for the list of "self-study" activities.  If you did not com

plete any "self-study" activities, enter 0. 
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DENTIST AND DENTAL CONSULTANT 
CONTINUING EDUCATION 

Revised 8.2015 

DO'S AND DON'TS 
 
DO Claim credit hours taken July 1, 2012 – June 30, 2015 
 
DO Enter the number of hours completed for each category.  Just a checkmark is not 

sufficient.  Make sure you have met the minimum of 72 hours. 
 
DO Enter the total number of hours completed by "self-study" activities as listed in Arizona 

Administrative Code (AAC) R4-11-1209(A)(4).  See below.  If you did not complete any 
"self-study" activities, enter 0. 

 
DO Sign the Continuing Education Affidavit and have it notarized. 
 
DO Look on our website www.dentalboard.az.gov Publications/Board Rules for complete 

continuing education requirements. 
 
DO NOT Claim more than 24 credit hours of "self-study" activities as listed in AAC R4-11-

1209(A)(4). See below. 
 
DO NOT Throw away your documentation of attendance.  The rules require that you maintain 

these documents for the most recently completed renewal period. 
 
DO NOT Wait until the last minute to request an extension on continuing education 

requirements.  Send in a written extension request in lieu of your continuing 
education affidavit.  Your completed renewal application with written extension 
request must be received by June 30, 2015. 

 
Arizona Administrative Code 

R4-11-1209.  Types of Courses 
A4. Subject to the limitations in subsection (B), any of the following activities that provide an understanding of 

current developments, skills, procedures, or treatment related to the practice of dentistry: 
a. A correspondence course video, internet or similar self-study course, if the course includes an examination 

and the licensee or certificate holder passes the examination; 
b. Participation on the Board, in Board complaint investigations including clinical evaluations or anesthesia and 

sedation permit evaluations; 
c. Participation in peer review of a national or state dental, dental hygiene, or denturist association or 

participation in qualty of care or utilization review in a hospital, institution, or governmental agency; 
d. Providing dental-related instruction to dental, dental hygiene, or denturist students, or allied health 

professionals in a recognized dental school, recognized dental hygiene school, or recognized denturist 
school, or providing dental-related instruction sponsored by a national, state, or local dental, dental hygiene, 
or denturist association; 

e. Publication or presentation of a dental paper, report, or book authored by the licensee or certificate holder 
that provides information on current developments, skills, procedures, or treatment related to the practice 
of dentistry.  A licensee or certificate holder may claim credit hours: 
i. Only once for materials presented; 
ii. Only if the date of publication or original presentation was during the applicable renewal period; and 
iii. One credit hour for each hour of preparation, writing, and presentation; or 

f. Providing dental, dental hygiene, or denturist services in a Board-recognized charitable dental clinic or 
organization. 

B. The following limitations apply to the total number of credit hours earned per renewal period in any combination 
of the activities listed in subsection (A)(4): 
1. Dentists and Dental Hygienists, no more than 24 hours; 
2. Denturists, no more than 12 hours; 
3. Retired or Restricted Permit Holder Dentists or Dental Hygienists, no more than nine hours; and 
4. Retired Denturists, no more than three hours. 


