ARIZONA STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

4205 North 7th Avenue, Suite 300 » Phoenix, Arizona 85013
Telephone (602) 242-1492 « Fax (602) 242-1445

DENTAL HYGIENIST CONTINUING EDUCATION AFFIDAVIT

I, (Name)

(License Number) hereby affirm that the Continuing

Education Record below is true and correct and that all requirements of continuing education as stated in Arizona Administrative Code (AAC) Title
4, Chapter 11, Article 12 have been met. | fully understand that any false statement in this Affidavit shall be grounds for suspension, revocation,
refusal to renew license or certificate or any other disciplinary action authorized by Arizona Revised Statutes § 32-1263.

CONTINUING EDUCATION RECORD

NUMBER OF HOURS

DENTAL HYGIENISTS (Total hours required — 54)

REQUIRED

COMPLETED

R4-11-1204(1) Dental and medical health, and dental hygiene services, periodontal disease, care of implants,
maintenance of cosmetic restorations and sealants, radiology safety and techniques, managing
medical emergencies, pain management, dental recordkeeping, dental public health and new
concepts in dental hygiene

31 credit hours
minimum

R4-11-1204(2) Dental hygiene practice organization and management, patient management skills, and methods of

0-14 credit hrs

health care delivery maximum

R4-11-1204(3) Chemical dependency, tobacco cessation, ethics, risk management and Arizona dental 3 credit hours
jurisprudence minimum

R4-11-1204(4) Infectious diseases and infectious disease control 3 Cr(.ad.'t hours
minimum

R4-11-1204(5) CPR healthcare provider, ACLS or PALS 3 credit hours
minimum

0-24 hours Number of Hours | Of the hours listed above, state the number of hours completed by "self-study" activities as defined in AAC R4-11-
maximum 1209(A)(4). A Dental Hygienist is limited to no more than 24 hours completed by "self-study" activities. Turn page over
for the list of "self-study" activities. If you did not complete any "self-study" activities, enter 0.
Date Signature of Applicant
State of
County of
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of , 20

My Commission Expires

Notary Public

Revised 8.2015



DO

DO

DO

DO

DENTAL HYGIENIST
CONTINUING EDUCATION

DO'S AND DON'TS

Look on our website www.dentalboard.az.gov Publications/Board Rules for complete
continuing education requirements.

Enter the number of hours completed for each category. Just a checkmark is not
sufficient. Make sure you have met the minimum of 54 hours.

Enter the total number of hours completed by "self-study" activities as listed in Arizona
Administrative Code (AAC) R4-11-1209(A)(4). See below. If you did not complete any
"self-study" activities, enter O.

Sign the Continuing Education Affidavit and have it notarized.

DO NOT Claim more than 24 credit hours of "self-study" activities as listed in AAC R4-11-

1209(A)(4). See below.

DO NOT Throw away your documentation of attendance. The rules require that you maintain

these documents for the most recently completed renewal period.

Arizona Administrative Code

R4-11-1209. Types of Courses
A4. Subject to the limitations in subsection (B), any of the following activities that provide an understanding of
current developments, skills, procedures, or treatment related to the practice of dentistry:

a.

b.

f.

A correspondence course video, internet or similar self-study course, if the course includes an examination
and the licensee or certificate holder passes the examination;

Participation on the Board, in Board complaint investigations including clinical evaluations or anesthesia and
sedation permit evaluations;

Participation in peer review of a national or state dental, dental hygiene, or denturist association or
participation in qualty of care or utilization review in a hospital, institution, or governmental agency;
Providing dental-related instruction to dental, dental hygiene, or denturist students, or allied health
professionals in a recognized dental school, recognized dental hygiene school, or recognized denturist
school, or providing dental-related instruction sponsored by a national, state, or local dental, dental hygiene,
or denturist association;

Publication or presentation of a dental paper, report, or book authored by the licensee or certificate holder
that provides information on current developments, skills, procedures, or treatment related to the practice
of dentistry. A licensee or certificate holder may claim credit hours:

i.  Only once for materials presented;

ii. Only if the date of publication or original presentation was during the applicable renewal period; and

iii. One credit hour for each hour of preparation, writing, and presentation; or

Providing dental, dental hygiene, or denturist services in a Board-recognized charitable dental clinic or
organization.

The following limitations apply to the total number of credit hours earned per renewal period in any combination
of the activities listed in subsection (A)(4):

1.

2.
3.
4.

Dentists and Dental Hygienists, no more than 24 hours;

Denturists, no more than 12 hours;

Retired or Restricted Permit Holder Dentists or Dental Hygienists, no more than nine hours; and
Retired Denturists, no more than three hours.
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